The 14th PORSCHE International Student Advertising Film Award 2017 returned to Ludwigsburg, after its debut year in London, where it will return in 2018.

Taking place on Tuesday evening (Nov 21) at the prestigious Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, the event was a ceremonious affair, with families, friends and filmmakers gathering to celebrate this year’s winners. Even the city’s mayor Werner Spec made a guest appearance.

The non-profit show held in partnership with UK film school, National Film and Television School (NFTS), awarded six cash prizes to film students from schools around the world across Classical and Mobility categories. Each amount playfully referenced the iconic Porsche 911 sports car.

Jury members Head of Creative Services at Publicis Communications Michael M. Maschke (chairman); Czar director/founder Rogier van der Ploeg; Stink founder/president; Daniel Bergmann; Head of International at the NFTS Hemant Sharda; and shots’ very own Olivia Atkins decided the fates of the filmmaker’s futures.


Classical Winners

The first prize, a total of €3,911, was awarded to Marco Prestini from LA’s Art Center College of Design for his Star* Back Home which also won a YDA for earlier this year, read more here.


Filmakademie alumnus Bernd Faass took home the second prize of €2,911 for his Better Safe Than Worry spot, which was inspired by a series of real events.


While third prize went to NFTS student Ian Robertson, who won €1,911 for his spot, Cupid.


The jury also decided to mention former Filmakademie student, Gabriel Borgetto, for his beautifully-crafted spot, Hans in Luck for Stella Artois.


Mobility Winners

Winners in this category were financially awarded as in the Classical category. Filmakademie graduates Dorian & Daniel were the jury’s unanimous first prize winner with their spec spot for Volvo, ABC of Death. Read more about it here


Second prize went to Munich’s University of Television and Film students Moritz Rautenberg and Christian Ricken for their aptly-entered, PORSCHE ad, Earl Hernest IV.


And third prize went to Filmakademie alumni Nico Kreis for his Nissan film, Take No Sides.


Click here to view the full winning and shortlisted films.


Photo at top, L-R: Jan David Günther, Ian Robertson, Mona Cathleen ,Madlen, Malcolm Duncan, Moritz Rautenberg, Christian Ricken, Philip Töpfer, Bernd Faass & Fabian Helbig.